510 l20b swap info

Good510

Ok so I am swaping a l20b into my 71 510, motor is in and everything is hooked up, but it wont start, I just noticed that the dist is a matchbox, and the wiring is set up for the stock l16, I saw some write ups but im still un clear on what to do.

Also my ignition key wont start the car.

I know these are rookie questions but I am new to 510 s and I dont know a whole lot about carb motors and these old set ups.

If anyone lives in or near rhe mesa az area and wouldnt mind tryin to help that would be great!!!!

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Here is a link to matchbox dizzy info:

http://web.archive.org/web/20031006095409/http://home.att.net/~jason510/Dizzy_FAQ.htm

Skip down to "Electrical Connections". There isn't a wiring diagram, but the description is pretty clear. Make two jumper wires. One goes from the B matchbox module terminal to the + on the coil. The C terminal goes to the - on the coil. I believe you leave the other wires to the coil hooked up. Bypass the ballast resistor (white ceramic thingy) by putting both wires to the resistor under one of the two studs on the resistor, effectively hooking them together, rather than going through the resistor.

Has the dizzy been out of the engine? It is easy to get it back in 180 degrees out of time. You want the dizzy rotor pointing at #1 cylinder position when both valves on #1 cylinder are closed (both rockers up). You may have to yank the valve cover to be sure. Maybe you can look through the oil cap hole.