suitable replacements for the F4W63 transmission

haze

howdy y'all i have yet another question concerning my 1972 datusn 521 pickup. after overhauling my front suspension, replacing the radiator, and rebuilding the engine i decided it would be in my best interests to get the gearbox overhauled as well being that there was an issue with grinding in second when coming out of higher gears. i took the thing to a local tranny shop and they quoted me 2500 dollars for a rebuild. they say i need a new input shaft, synchros, bearings and seals. my engine rebuild cost me 1083 bucks and i am thinking this is a scam. i am taking the thing to another shop around here recommended to me by my machine shop come monday. their quote is 200 dollars plus parts. hopefully all goes well and i can get a solid gearbox for around 600 bucks but if not i was wondering what my options are as far as swapping the thing out. i am a novice mechanic with limited tools and even more limited budget.

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

$2500?

la-rigolade-ff3ao.jpg

Now that we have that out of the way. Here's another one...... On day Hainz wanted to clear out some junk in the garage so he put two F4W63 trannys out on the front yard with a FREE sign on them. When he came home from work there were three. Out here we throw them away. Your best bet is to get one from another 521 but if not....

Your 521 basically uses the same transmission as the 510 sedan or wagon or the early 620, and the 710 car but with one difference. Your output flange and spline is bolted into the back of the tranny and the flange bolts to the driveshaft. (all the others have a removable spline that slips in the end)

See the bolt that holds the flange onto the main output shaft?

transF4W63520-521flangeo-p.jpg

Flange removed, nut on mainshaft.

F4W63flangeoutputfrom521001.jpg