Just got a 521.. any recomended upgrades?

Gensaiken

So I just got a 71 521 in nice shape for $100. It has no motor but I have one waiting to go in to it.

I don't really know too much about the 521s. Is there anything to keep an eye on when working on a 521? Common problem pieces / places? Any simple upgrades that can be done? (when I speak of upgrades i'm thinking pretty simple swaps from other vehicles.. Interior, exterior, whatever.. hopefully require minimal modification..)

Anyways any information you can offer or sources of information would be great. I did some searching on the forums here but you can't search for "521" !! Whats up with that :rolleyes:

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm pretty new to 521's too.

There's a couple people floating around with ka24 swaps in their 521's and 620's. People swap on 280z 5spd tranny's, etc etc.

A few common/PITA problems are kingpins, bad wheel cylinders (good luck finding new ones), frozen adjusters, rust rust rust (like any datsun).

Anyway, congratulations! Post up some pics.

I'm pretty new to 521's too.

There's a couple people floating around with ka24 swaps in their 521's and 620's. People swap on 280z 5spd tranny's, etc etc.

A few common/PITA problems are kingpins, bad wheel cylinders (good luck finding new ones), frozen adjusters, rust rust rust (like any datsun).

Anyway, congratulations! Post up some pics.

So, Wheel cylinders for 521's are NLA? I'll have to call some places tomorrow and double check that. Hope thats not true.

I did the deal over the phone. My brother actually transported it to my dad's shop but thats about 200 miles away from me. Won't have any pics till I can get down there. From what he said he couldn't find much rust on it. I'll have to look for my self.

1. Disc brakes. Get some.

2. Dual master cylinder. Plumb one.

I drove mine maybe a half dozen times before downing for discs. Drums are just too antiquated.