possible 521 door seal hookup

datsunfish

I know just about everyone who has a 521 wonders about new door seals.There are some places to get it but it is kinda spendy.I have searched endlessly for the right shape but nothing til now.

I am an RV technician and work with various seals all the time.I finally came across some that should work for the 521 and its cheap.It is a winnebago part that I believe is for a Diesel engine access.It is press on with metal inside the channel to grip.I have test fit a piece and if it will do the bends nicely it should be great.I plan to install some soon and should be able to get it for anyone in need.For a small fee of course.

My cost is $1.15 per foot.I will figure how much is needed and figure something out.

2008_0108Image0022.jpg

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Good find. Is there a part # available so maybe we can stop into an RV supply house & buy it ourselves? Unless you dont mind buying & shipping it out. Im sure youll have alot of orders including me..my seals are wasted & feel the cold air rushing in as i drive.

I brought some home today and just test fit it and so far it looks good.The "bulb" of the seal tends to kink a little on the lower rear corner.Not so bad at the front lower.It seals up fantastic on the straight runs.the top front corner is good and the rear top will have to be cut and glued back together.If anyone hasnt seen me write about it,super glue will seal foam rubber together nicely.

What I plan to do is make it work perfect on my truck first which I will do within a couple days.I will then be able to work out how much is needed and how much it will run.Stay tuned.:D

I have been working on the street in the rain and dark tonight.I dont mind so much but any pictures will suck right now.I just installed the drivers door seal and it is hard to shut because my door panel needs to be shortened in the rear.It did that with the stock ones.