Wont Idle

dennis

I picked up a 72 510 all original a few weeks ago. I just finished up the brakes and now I am working on getting the motor running. This is what happens, I fire it up and it starts but then quickly dies no matter how hard I step on the pedal. I have already drained the old gas and refilled with premium and replaced the fuel filter. If I spray starter fluid in it starts and runs till it dries out. Spark is good, timing should be good enough to at least make it run.

I am not good with carbs and the only experience I have is with an old holley carb. I do not want to buy a weber 32/36 since I will be doing a motor swap next year. I also have a rebuild kit for the hitachi but I know the mechanic who owned it last just rebuilt it a couple of years ago, I know that doesn't mean he did it right.

Any suggestions?

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The front of the carb has a glas cover with a horizontal line about 2/3 of the way up. Fuel should be at that level.

If not then the float is off?

I think it is around halfway up, I will check in the morning.

Thanks Mike.

Then it should run.

Possibly there is a blockage in the primary circuit and no fuel getting through. Motor off ,look down the carb and work the throttle... you should see a strong squirt of fuel from the accelerator pump into the primary barrel. (one closest to the valve cover)

Then it should run.

Possibly there is a blockage in the primary circuit and no fuel getting through. Motor off ,look down the carb and work the throttle... you should see a strong squirt of fuel from the accelerator pump into the primary barrel. (one closest to the valve cover)

I looked down and can hear a faint squirt, but cant see anything. The fuel level is 2/3 full on the sight glass.