engine spark troubles

im still pretty new to the datsun world.

i tried to start my 76, 620 truck for the second time since i got it in april.

its not getting spark, the resistor by the coil gets really hot, too hot to touch. i tested the coil as described in the chilton manual.

any ideas or advice on this, im figureing since the resistor is getting real hot that maybe it isnt letting any voltage pass.

what specs should the resistor test at?

thanks for any help.

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

76 is this a point distributor?

Current is passing alot as that why the resisitor is getting hot. Too much current. a 1 ohm difference can be almost a 50% increase on current on the POINTS IGNITION system.

Example a 510 has 3.2 ohm total resisitance.

12volts divide by 3.2 ohms = 3.75 amps

Now if the coil shorted out, the battery will only see the ballast resisitor of 1.6 ohms. 12volt divide by 1.6 ohms = 9.2 amps. Now the ballasts has to handle 9amps and will get HOT untill that frys the points fry and or the fuse pops in the fuse box. or worse melts wires . Im using this as a example as I never seen a ballast short out or a coil short out myself. I have seen wrong match coil balsst installed from other vehicles and not matched up correctly.

Datsuns are pretty much wired the same as this 510 drawing Im going to post.

is the resisitor the stock one ?

a point coil should be in the range of about 1.2 , 1.4 ,1.6 ohms I would say is good. and the ballast would be close to 1.6 ohms. Like I said above if the ballast is 1.2 -1.8 I would not worry about it.

was the coil changed?????? maybe a low ohm coil was installed also and the ballast has to drop the extra current or cant handle it.

does coil feel HOT also?

look on "Rockauto" for your model and see if they have some specs on Ohm values.

Even "partsamerica" has some good photos of stuff.

importedcarparts.com

ballast510_thumb.jpg