Nissan 720 4x4 reliability

DankDatsun

I’m new to owning older Nissan/Datsun trucks and recently got a 1985 Nissan 720 4x4 to use for my beekeeping business and some camping. I’m usually in bee yards that are in the middle of nowhere on really rough and steep dirt roads where a tow truck would most likely not make it or would refuse togo, no crazy wheeling or anything like that things just slippery in the spring when everything is wet and green so I’m not beating the crud out of it but I do need the 4wd to be dependable. Often times I have no cell service so getting stuck or breaking down would leave me taking the shoelace express. So with that said I’d like to know what are the common problems with these trucks (1985 720 2.4L 4x4)and what I can do to prevent them from happening. I’d also like to know the overall reliability and durability and if there is any kind of preventive maintenance I can do to keep them from leaving me stranded like how often should I be changing things before they go out (water pumps, timing belt, fuel pump, alternator, ETC.) 

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I would start with the basics. Replace all fuel hoses & fuel Filter, replace all brake hoses, change gear oil (transfer, tranny, both diffs), Engine Oil Change, replace Air Filter. Check wheel cylinders and replace if necessary. Make sure all lights are in good working order. Check windshield wipers are also working. Check Coolant, fill or replace if necessary. Check Spark plugs & spark plug wires replace if necessary. Check distributor cap and rotor (one of the terminals on my distributor cap disintegrated into powder when I disconnected a spark plug wire).  I would replace all accessory belts. Go over all the vacuum lines and replace the cracked/brittle ones. Check tires to make sure they're not sun baked and cracked.

Edited by IZRL