Cab Mount Rust Repair Brackets

Bahrbarian

Hello All, I'm a new guy on the forum, but I was a Nissan/Datsun mechanic years ago and I'm on my second 620 because stupid me sold a rust free North Carolina '75 and kicked myself for letting it go ever since. Anyway, the reason for this thread is that I have pretty localized rust on my '73's cab mounts and I'm having a friend with a water jet work with me to make some new cab mount brackets that will overlay (or underlay, depending on how you look at it) the original reinforcement plates that are integral to the floor pan. I my case, my floors are good, except for where the body mount bolts mount the cab to the frame. The frame is solid but the reinforcement plate that is welded to the floor pan is basically gone where the rubber mount is, but the rest of it is still solid to the floor pan.  I would prefer not to replace the whole floor pan, and I'm hoping that making this custom bracket will be cheaper and easier.

I'm prototyping one now, and if they work well, I'd offer them on the forum if it would help other members as well.  Sorry for the lack of pictures of what I'm actually trying to accomplish, but I guess I'm just wondering if this is a common situation, or if my situation is more unique and it's only going to be the right fix for my individual truck. I'm also wondering if someone else already is doing any kind of rust repair panels like this?  In any case, I welcome any questions or feedback.

Thanks,

John

• Like 3
  • Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I think we talked briefly on facebook. I posted a 3d prototype of these. Hant had time to work on them for a while now. If you make some I would probably buy a set.