How I grew to love Datsun's.

I am 19 years old and live in the heart of the American-Japanese car scene... western Washington. My dad was an old hot rodder in the day and I have always loved his stories about his C10, Nova and his chevelle's. I remember him saying his favorite car to drive was a old Toyota Celica. I grew up loving old Mustangs and other old hot rods, always have (I take after my dad in most things).

His best friend and him toyed around with many 520's, 521's, 620's and 720's, and to this day Steve (his old best friend) lives in New Mexico will give me tips on things to this day and give advice.

When I was a sophomore in high school I started to hang out with the car guys at my school of 350-400 kids. These kids got me into the ever growing drift and "JDM" scene in this area (I'm about 2 towns away from evergreen speedway, arguably one of the biggest tracks in western Washington). I had bought my dad's old car after a long summer of working at a drive in, a 1996 Nissan Maxima with just a hair under 400k when I started my driving lessons and he got his new car. This car had been rear ended when my grandpa bought it new (fixed right after), then hit a deer with my dad at the wheel a few years before I got the machine. I loved that car, learned a lot of what I know now from it. Although, I put it through hell... Jumped it twice, rallied it on dirt roads, slid it on fast food trays, just the usual stuff a 16 to 18 year old would do to their first car.