Hi I'm new here

Hey Everyone! I'm new to Datsuns and new to the site so I was wondering if there are and special quirks to Datsuns in general. I've just got the 78 280Z I bought a few weeks ago running (needed new injectors do to bad gas) and I noticed none of the gauges work properly (all register lower than they should). I understand that I shouldn't expect everything to work perfectly on a car that's sat for over 2 years and has just been restarted but I was wondering if It might be something that will fix itself with a bit of driving?  

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

welcome to Ratsun 

on Ratsun pics are a must 

I am in the sacramento area and have many many z parts if you find you need something let me know 

welcome to the world of Datsuns 

• Like 1

....and varnish/gunk on the fuel and oil pressure gauges

The gauges are electrical and seldom fail. Two failures is very unlikely. The temp and fuel gauges are both powered by a small voltage regulator located in the temp gauge. It supplies a steady 8 volts and is unaffected by a high charging rate or low battery voltage when idling with headlights, fan and wipers on.

I suppose you could just replace the temp gauge or remove and gently clean the contacts with fine sand paper...

620instvoltreg.jpg

• Like 1