GreaseFactory's 720 Cali Truck

GreaseFactory

Hello everyone!

I am new to Ratsun. I hear it is the best forum community going when it comes to Nissan/Datsun.

I just purchased my first Nissan the other day, and decided to share some of the story behind it and how I found myself behind the wheel of a minty 1985 Nissan 720.

It all started a few days ago, when on my way to work in sub zero temperatures I hit a patch of black ice in my 2010 Silverado. I slid off the road into a telephone pole at 70KM/H. Needless to say, the truck is totaled, and I need a replacement. I'm still waiting for insurance to pay me for the crumpled beer can sitting outside in the cold.

I had a few bucks in my pocket and decided that I would rather be driving something that I own instead of the rental Chrysler 300 that inurance gave me for the time being. I hopped on Kijiji, and 10 min later was on my way to a lady's house to look at her truck.

The truck has 62010miles on the clock, a spotless interior and I can eat off the underside of the truck. the only rust is surface scale where the paint has been chipped in the box and a small spot on the hood. Not a hole or bubble anywhere. She just had the truck inspected and spent thousands of dollars on a Tune-Up, Oil Change, Brakes, Clutch, Exhaust and Brand New Tires! I bought the truck for $2300CDN and drove it home.

Last night while driving it around it developed a funny clattery knock under acceleration and it idled like it was missing a cylinder. I attempted to limp it home before the situation got worse but the truck had different plans, A few minutes of driving later the truck stalled at an intersection. I fired it back up after a few tries, and everyone started honking and flashing their lights. I looked behind me to see a steam cloud filling the air coming from my exhaust. OH-NO!!! THE HEADGASKET!!!