In need of some ideas and parts for my 67' 411 SSS wagon!

reilleyd

Hey guys i'm new to the Datsun scene and don't really know what to do with my 67' 411 SSS wagon I have just acquired. I bought it with the 1.6L dual carb roadster engine? Also its sitting on roadster suspension. Its currently not running. The guy said it needs a water pump and alternator to run. I traded my daily for it so getting it back on the road is a must and quick. I am wondering where the best place is to get parts for this engine would be or if any of you guys have parts you could sell me asap. 

Thanks in advanced for you help! 

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

you picked a hard to find motor, the 411sss has some specific to the chassis parts, such as the water pump, if you have the bad one dont throw it away. you need part of it!

Exactly! On occasion some supplier says he has an RL411 water pump but the length of the shaft and diameter of the fan hub never look right to me. You need the original fan hub and upper pulley from your current car to make things work. The RL411 and WRL411 fan blades are riveted on to a solid "spider", not 2 blades held together by 4 bolts and a support ring. You need to get a roadster waterpump, pull the roadster hub and "transplant" the original hub on to the roadster pump. A gear puller for removal and a hydraulic press for assembling the original hub are needed. Warning, be sure you have good engine mounts! The roadster water pump shaft has a very close clearance to the radiator. Week engine mounts risk eating the radiator with your fan blade.