620 complete rewire?

jvb5577

Now I'm sure this subject may have been covered but I was having a hard time finding it.  Has anyone attempted or thought about rewiring their whole truck.  I mean all complete new wires or mostly complete (will use ones that are in good shape still).  I went to look up the diagram sticky'd at the top but the link was dead (for the '73).  I have the factory manual so will use that.  I just want to "modernize" my trucks wiring so I don't have to worry about melting wires or popping fuses.  Figured I would do this when I put my LZ in.  

I guess my main questions are: is this worth the time and effort and money?  Should I just do the simple upgrades (light relays, ect)?  Is there a way to get the headlight off the brake light circuit?

I'm pretty new to wiring also. So not sure if this is something I can tackle either but would like it done.

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I've never done a complete rewire on a datto but I have done other vehicles from scratch & with a wiring kit. 

Do yourself a HUGE favor & use a kit.

Most if not all the kits target the domestic car market but that doesnt matter. You just want to make sure you have enough circuits for your application.

My buddy that you met at the Datsloco Swap just used this kit http://www.speedwaymotors.com/Speedway-Economy-12-Circuit-Wiring-Harness,2352.html & highly recomends it.

I haven't really laid out any plans either just something I have been thinking about doing.  Wanted to get the good'ol ratsuns comments and ideas.  

Heretic:  I didn't even know that had basic kits.  This is something that will really help!

:D  agreed

If you're planning on keeping the factory dash look closely at the stock harness connectors/plugs & graft the obvious ones to your new harness, like the round gauge cluster plug. 

You'll want to solder & heatshrink ALL your harness connections. Don't cheap out & use crimp connectors.