38 DGEV Electric Choke to manual?

VValicente

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I believe there is kits that do this.

have you tried adjusteing yours. Loosen the 2 or 3 screw on the round plastic and turn it one way or the other. to get more or less choke.

a 78 should have a 12volt wire near there to get power for it.

piercemanifolds might have a conversion. its just a new plstic cap with a wire to pull the lever(flaps) kinda chezzy really

Actually, I don't have the carb yet. I wanted to make sure it was really possible before I go ahead and get it. Also, Im pretty new to carbs so I didn't know there was actual adjustments I could make to the choke plates. But as for why I want to change to manual is because well idk I just like to have as much control over the engine as possible and having as little electronics as possible. Plus although it probably doesn't matter for warm up and what not, but I'm not sure what cam and pistons I have in the engine, so idk how that will affect it.

..... But as for why I want to change to manual is because well idk I just like to have as much control over the engine as possible and having as little electronics as possible.

Damn.... control freak much? Learn to let go. :lol: The electric choke will do a better job than you ever could.

Plus although it probably doesn't matter for warm up and what not, but I'm not sure what cam and pistons I have in the engine, so idk how that will affect it.

The stock '74 has an electric choke so I'm sure it will survive the Weber.

DGEV= electric

DGAV= aqua

DGV= manual

As Hainz and DatzenMike said, just feed the electric choke some keyed juice, adjust it, and close the hood. I've had both, and electric is the way to go.

"The electric choke will do a better job than you ever could."