My new RL411

sreams

Hello all,

I've always been a vintage car fan... especially European cars from the 60s and early 70s. I've always liked the styling of the 410/411 cars, and I just found a nice '67 with the 1600 motor down in LA. I bought it last week and drove it back up to Sacramento.

I've had a lot of experience with MGs and Volvos that have SU carbs, so the Hitachis have been a breeze to tune. I also fixed the timing, which was retarded by about 8 degrees. The distributor mechanical advance was also gummed up a bit. Fixed that as well, and now the car runs beautifully and pulls nicely. I'm pretty sure the front suspension is in need of some fresh ball joints. It looks like these can be difficult to come by, so any advice is welcome. Also, the BW35 automatic works well, but it leaks. It appears to be losing fluid at the speedometer drive (easy fix once I find a seal), and probably at the torque converter (not so easy). Is this car like the roadsters in that you cannot remove just the transmission, but must remove the engine together with it?

Anyway... here are some shots. I really like the Datsun 210 alloys it came with. I think they work on the 411 better than they do on the 210:

rl411side.jpgrl411frontseat.jpgrl411backseat.jpgrl411speedo.jpg

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Dude!!! What DatWifey said, That is sssoooo clean looking, sweet score man but you gotta tell us, how much you pick up for?

$4800. I think I lucked out. The seller didn't have any pictures up, and the pictures he sent me were taken with a very low quality cellphone camera. I'm guessing this would have been gone well before I got to it if the ad had included decent pictures.