521 Owners, lend me your dash pictures!!

So, I'm still learning when it comes to 521's.

My truck seems to be missing a button or two and I can't find where the light switch is. Plus I have no idea what the missing buttons control...

SO, I need some clear shots of the dash and surrounding buttons. Did they change the location of the buttons over the years?

I found this picture, is this the common factory layout of the buttons??

8vyoso.jpg

PS: where is the location of the stock speaker(s) in a 521?

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Actually the headlight switch is supposed to be black in the 520. The red knob is for the hazards.

The stock speaker location was mounted to the firewall to the right of the heater, behind the package tray for the most part. It was contained in a plastic box enclosure.

Well heres how my buttons go.

Clockwise I have: wipers, Fast moving fan, missing button, and pinwheel looking thing

So did some one just throw on extra random buttons? I have never seen that fast moving fan button on any other 521..

0403081722b.jpg

The glove box was basically a paper-like fiber, though the construction method changed from a molded design early on to a flat, stapled design later. Both rotted out once the windshield started leaking. 520/521s never had plastic or metal gloveboxes. Even the 620 had a fiber (stapled) one through 1979. The 720 was the first truck with a plastic glove box (because it was integral to the passenger-side dash facia, whereas the 620 and 521 still used a metal-framed, padded vinyl dash). Feel fortunate- at least the 520/521 had real hinges on the door. The 620 and later were just a plastic seam that eventually cracks and the door falls off.