Customizing the stock cluster

Mooghosty

Hello Ratsun!

I'm new to Datsuns and new to automotive electronics which is why I have a question for you all.

I have a '72 510 that either didn't come with a tach or had it's tach removed by the previous owner. What I have is a small black circular area where there are warning type lights for the parking break, the choke, and the oil pressure.

002.jpg

003.jpg

(back of my cluster)

What I was wondering is, can I cut the gague cluster up a bit to widen this circular area without damaging any of the (other) electrical stuff?

To make enough room for a new (3 3/8 in) tach I would have to cut into the circuitboard and thereby break the warning light circuits.

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Just put jumper wires in place if the traces, and you're good.

If you scratch off the coating and expose the copper traces, you can solder right to them.

Yeah if you cut through the copper or lighter green colored lines then you break the circuit and your working dash. But you could jump them to complete the circuit again...

with traces that wide, its probably pretty easy to solder wires to them like they were saying. if you didnt have to cut through the traces, i'd say get a dremel and a grinding stone and put it on a low speed. My dremel is a two speed and low is 15.5k and i used it to modify a video card pcb to fit it into an odd computer case and it did a great job. Pcb smells pretty rough when you grind it though. you'll probably recognize the smell right away.

The jumping sounds like a good option. I thought about the dremel idea, but if you look at the picture one circuit runs awfully close to the edge of the board, and I was worried It might damage something.