Looking to get a 620 tonight

Danultron

They are asking 2300 for the truck. I haven't seen it in person yet but its a 72' 620 and it looks very clean, mostly original, and well maintained. Just don't want to get taken advantage of seeing as I am a noob. What sort of questions should I ask and what should I look for as far as common problems with ageing in 620's? Mostly been researching 521's and 510s but this year of 620 has an L16, and I'm looking for a commuter. Thanks, any help would be appreciated!

Also I slightly worry about not being able to find parts when in need, should I worry? WHATS THE DEAL?!?

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

there are parts still available for these trucks, I find brakes and engine parts in auto parts stores all the time. You cant get everything for them, and body parts tend to be tough, but you can usually find almost everything you need on this site.. Good luck with the buy, and remember one thing about this site,,everyone wants to see pictures. So take lots of pictures and post them up....

That's a lot for an aging 40 year old vehicle. If you want a commuter, maybe a crappy car you don't have to worry about.

It should:

Visually:

Be in good repair, no missing parts.

Good matching tires, (not three different nylon and one radial) and a spare under the back.

Underside of engine and front end not covered in oil from leaks.

Smell gas... gas tank leaking or hoses?

Rad full of clear antifreeze/coolant.

Oil clean.

Engine compartment reasonably clean without jury-rigged wiring and home made fixes. (no vice grips holding the battery cable on)

Belts and hoses good.

Body reasonably solid outside and IN. Look under mats by left foot to see if the cab mount is rotted, also the back left corner behind the seat... then the passenger sides. Glass cracked?