L16 overhaul

ddrum

Ok, so i took my 1972 620 to the shop because the head gasket was blown and the head was warped. After 5 days my mechanic said the block was in bad shape. We found out that all the piston rings were broken and it was a total mess. So now I'm going to have to rebuild it (by the way it is a L16). He told me the bore was going to be a size 20, didn't really get that. :huh: so i want to buy good parts since its going to be a daily driver. What kind of pistons and crankshaft would i need to use and where could i find them? (i know I'm a noob but I'm still trying to learn more):cool: i also need to do this on a tight budget.

Thanks, Erick

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Bore Size 20 Means That He Will Be Making The Bore (Hole Where The Piston Goes In The Block) 0.020 Bigger

And Be Carefull Not Having Him Rip You Off, Some Shops Break The Rings On Purpose And Then Say "Hey Man I Found These Broken Rings Inside The Block..." Not Good :no:

Bore Size 20 Means That He Will Be Making The Bore (Whole Where The Piston Goes In The Block) 0.20 Bigger

And Be Carefull Not Having Him Rip You Off, Some Shops Break The Rings On Purpose And Then Say "Hey Man I Found These Broken Rings Inside The Block..." Not Good :no:

that is true, but i have known this mechanic for quite a while now and he been very honest with me. anyways i cant help but notice that your truck looks a lot like mine!:D that is so cool they are like clones! jeje.

Eh, i can't remember the piston combo, i think you can use L26 pistons or something... Theres some info floating around on the board do some searches. Maybe look in the Engine section and see the stickies there, theres a thread labeled Jason Gray i believe that has a ton of info in it also.