new paint help

Just Joel

A while back, I repainted the engine compartment of my 510 wagon and I'm having a little trouble with the finished product. It all looks pretty good with exception of the area behind the passenger strut tower where I developed some areas that feel like sand paper (very fine sand paper) from what I assume was dry paint in the air settling while I was painting. What I'm hoping is that there is a simple fix to polishing out these areas to a shine similar to the rest of the engine compartment. Is there a special procedure that I could follow? Sorry for a lame question but I'm extremely new to car paint.

Thank

Joel

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Watersand the area with some real fine sand paper?

Maybe try hitting the area with a polishing compound. See if that'll knock it down.

Wet sanding sounds awesome (and was what I initially thought I would have to do) but I have no idea where to begin with that one... If I wet sand, what will I have to do to polish it? What grit do I use? After sanding, can I just use a polishing compound and hand polish it back to a shine? I can't see getting a mechanical tool back in that tight little spot. If I can in fact polish it by hand, I wouldn't mind fixing a couple runs and some orange peel at the same time. Would a pro mind filling in the blanks for me? I'm not afraid of a little elbow grease to get it done.

Thanks

Joel