L16 timming cover

Hello ther im new to the forun actually just signed up and am excited to ask some questions about my new datsun project.

anway i just bought a 71 521 pickup for 400 from a friend and its got a few issues that i need to address but the main one is that the engine was recently rebuilt and when they were reassebling the engine some how they managed to break off a few bolts in the timing cover. one in the front oil pan area one that holds down the distributor and a couple others on the front of the timing cover so im looking to remove the timing cover to do the reapairs. i have never worked on a datsun before and was wondering if i have to pull the head to remove the timing cover or if someone could give me a rundown on the way to remove it that would be killer thanks to anyone willing to help .

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

pull distributor, oil pump, water pump, and loosen all the oil pan bolts to let the pan drop about an 1/8 inch... than you can take off the cover... if you want to work on this truck yourself anymore, i suggest getting a manual.... and pictures of your truck is always good courtesy here at ratsun. and welcome to the forum

Hello ther im new to the forun actually just signed up and am excited to ask some questions about my new datsun project.