My 5 Yr Project Datsun 510

Hello everyone, I am new here, but not to the 510 scene.

I've lurked around and finally post something.

I'm a member from other 510 forums as well but decide this site has the most traffic and perhaps I will get better help.

Anyway, enough for the introduction.... I have a 1970 510 I've been working on for about 5 years now.

It's my so-called never ending project. At a point I was going to give up on it lol...

Here's what I have... I'm very close finishing it... but pics will do the talking.

I'd like to finish this project with all of you and would need your help to get it done.

I started with this... don't mind the front wheels on backward, it's the guys at the tire shop :)

DSCF0023.jpg

DSCF0026.jpg

Then my head gasket was on it's way out. Took it to a buddy of mine by the name of Bill Breedlove (some of you may know him)

He took my car in and replace the head gasket and adjusted the valves. A week later it wouldn't start. It just cranks but does not fire up.

I did everything in the book to see what the problem was.... no success. I decided to just take it apart and look.

I found a bolt stuck in one of the valve! I assume Breedlove lost it 'somewhere' lol.

• Replies 89
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

i'm back!

anyhow, fast forward to this year...

this is where i'm at now.

Picture103.jpg

Picture105.jpg

Picture101.jpg

Picture069.jpg

Picture095.jpg

^^ that intake pipe is temporary only. will be replace by a BOV. I needed it there for start up and testing only.

Picture071.jpg

Fuel: warlboro hi flow inline pump and carter low pres. pump. Nissan Z32 Fuel filter and surge tank.

Picture067.jpg

Picture079.jpg

Picture072.jpg

if you see something not right, please let me know or if you have a better way of doing it. Thanks!

More to come.