Cd player install..

I would like to install a cd player into my 79 datsun 620. I have been looking at the wiring diagram on the haynes manual but it seems a bit misleading or might just be that I'm not very good at reading the diagram. I need to know which color wire to tap into.. If anyone can help me out with this.

Here's the ones I need:

Ign ACC =

Ign Start =

Battery 12v =

Illumination =

Illumin dimmer control =

Ground =

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Now hopefully you have a good radio and not a noname brand, get a test light.

The wire that is hot all the time is 12+ that would go to the yellow on the radio.

The one that lights up when the key is on is the ACC, that will go to the red.

Now here is the tricky one; test the rest while turning the parking lights on and off, the one that lights up will go to the dimmer wire, Orange I believe on the radio. You do not want to use a wire in the harness as ground, most mess up and hook it to the dimmer wire, it reads ground when the parking lights are off.

As for you ground, your black wire goes to a clean metal spot nearby on the frame/dash/ firewall whatever easiest. I always recomend to run fresh wire to the speakers, some cars the speaker is grounded to the truck, that will kill your deck.

Any other questions, feel free to PM me.

Another thing to think about. There is a harness in the dash for the original radio. Hook up a light tester, shove it in the connector in one spot and turn the key on, if nothing, move on to the next, then to the next, and so on until you see one that lights up. Once you do that and find the one that lights up when the key is on, you have found your power source. I would run a separate wire to the battery for your memory power wire. Done deal...