looking into a 73 620 whatca think?

ryster88

howdy i am new to this whole datsun scene been into VW's for a while and well i got what i think is a pretty good deal from my cousin on his 73 620. just want to see if you guys think it is worth his family price of lets say cheap.

the truck:

?ui=2&ik=2d11e7d2b7&view=att&th=1249e9d0d3211234&attid=0.1&disp=emb&zw

the specs:

The Engine:

1975 L20B U67 casting, bored .040" (1mm) over, new rings, new rod and main bearings, new main seals and complete gasket kit.

The head: matching U67 head, ported and polished, port matched to hogged out stock L16 intake. The L16 intake doesn't have the heat exhanger between the intake and exhaust. The exhaust manifold is an early 4-2-1 manifold, which has better flow than a later 4-1 manifold. The valves were cleaned, lapped, and new valve stem seals were installed. The rockers were lightened and balanced to a uniform 73 grams, to smooth out the valve train. The cam is a Delta Cams Stage 1 cam, with 260' Duration, and 440 Lift. This is topped with the 1973 "Datsun" Valvecover, sanded and polished. The oilcap is a rare "elephant" oil cap, with some research you can find out the story behind it.

Carb: Weber 32/36 progressive downdraft with electric choke.

Ignition: New OEM single points distributor with Pertronix Ignitor Ignition module. Accel 8mm plug wires

Resurfaced flywheel, with Centerforce Stage 1 clutch kit, and new centerforce throwout bearing.

1978 Kingcab 5 speed

Original 1973 rearend, open, 4.75:1 ratio

Welded 1977 4.75:1 ratio

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

That motor looks worthwhile and fun. If it's got a stock carb, a Weber or a motorcycle carb conversion will really wake that up.

IMHO, if the body is in good (or good enough to fix) condition, it sounds like a fun ride.