Uuuuhhh, why are my 521 brake lights on. No matter what?

I've been driving the 521 for a few months now as my daily. (my girl is driving my Frontier until I can fix her SE-R) Today, we took a day off and went to the beach. when I got ready to leave, I noticed that the tail lights were on.

Headlight position: off

Ignition: off

Brakes: off

I had my girlfriend then sit in the truck and pump the brakes, turn the lights on and off, ect...

No change whatsoever in the fully illuminated brake lights.

they did not get brighter when she touched the brakes, so I'm pretty sure that it's the brake lights and not the tail lights I'm having issues with...

I had to disconnect the battery just to keep it from dying in the driveway.

I was fiddling with the switch on the pedal assembly that activates the lights, but with no change...

Any suggestions on how to begin to troubleshoot this one?

Thanks guys/gals! :D

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

What if the switch backed out of the threads? A way to check is to get up under the dash and check at the end of the pedal. With the pedal depressed, the switch would extend out from the housing and the lights would be on. With the pedal not depressed, it holds the switch closed, and the lights stay off. If the switch is stripped or came unscrewed for any reason, it would stay on all the time (as you describe). Disconnect the switch before twisting it back into the threads, otherwise the wires get tangled up (or crossed, causing the lights to come on unexpectedly...:eek:

Check the switch for operation, then rule it out (sometimes the contacts get all fubar, and they stay on...)

there is a plate that pushes the switch plunger when the pedal is all the way out. Sometimes they fall off and the plunger in the switch ust goes thru the hole and the plunger isnt getting pressed. I got a Penny and JB weld it on there.