How do I adjust my camber and toe '85 720

Hey all,

This may be elementary, but I'm pretty new to wrenching and would love some advice if y'all have it.

Recently picked up an 85 720 in okay shape with 176k miles on it. Recently did tie rod ends, ball joints, and sway bar links. Put some new tires on and noticed feathering right away in the front. Went for an alignment and the tech said he did as best he could, but couldn't get her right. It's obvious from looking at the front end the passenger toe and/or camber is way off. Recommended a lift spindle? Looks to me that the upper control arm is pulling the whole thing towards the body, but the driver side looks fine.

I'm not really sure where to start as far as fixing the problem goes. Front tires are wearing FAST. 

Also have photos, but not sure how to post em.

Any advice would be extremely appreciated!

• datzenmike changed the title to How do I adjust my camber and toe '85 720
  • Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

image.jpeg.587a4dbf1a298a8f6562725e8de40dd7.jpeg

I would begin by setting the correct ride height by adjusting the anchor bolts on the rear ends of the torsion bars. Both tires must be identical, have the same proper air pressure and on a level floor. Find the tension rod mounting bolts to the lower control arm. Hold a level against the outermost one. Find the lower link bushing nut on the front of the lower control arm and measure down from it's center to the level.

King Cab......... 4.45" -4.61"

Reg Cab.......... 4.65" -4.80"

See how it looks now.

The camber, IF you have the height set correctly, it probably isn't off.  Radial tires are not very sensitive to camber being off, or so I;ve heard.