New 1980 720 kc 4wd owner

nismofo

Hi everybody! Decided it was about time I introduced myself and my truck. I picked up this 1980 720 late last year and have slowly been restoring it and getting it road worthy. I did drive it home about 35 miles but it had several problems including excessive free play in the steering, poor brakes and electrical issues.

I will include updated pictures and a list of what I have done to it in a future post but for now I will keep this a short introduction.

A little about me.. Well I live in LA, I'm 28 and have been working on cars professionally and as a hobby since I was a freshman in high school. I did the drifting thing for 10 years with several 240s but as I get older i find myself needing a vehicle to explore the outdoors and to get off the beaten path. I have big plans for this truck and plan to keep it around until one of us dies and I will take good care of her.

Ok here is a pic of how she looked when I bought her.

I will post some updating pics soon.

image_zps0a387ea5.jpg

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Just so you know that is an '81 hood. The '80 hoods didn't have the two louvers. 4x4s got blacked out front bumpers and 2wd got chrome. At least all the ones I have seen are this way. After all these years lots of things get traded around. If I had an '80 I would want the louvered hood too.

1980 hoods have louvers in the hood near the back like in the photos below.

DSCN0054.JPG

DSCN2840.JPG

DSCN2841.JPG

This is a true 1980 hood, a one year hood, there are always a few vehicles that run over to other years, like I see the 81-82 hood on titled 83 vehicles a lot.

Another thing to keep in mind is that these vehicles are getting old, people damage body parts all the time, and replace them with what ever is available.