83' 720. Engine turns over and then immediately dies

E-Rock

I'm new to working on cars and I'm attempting to tackle this myself since I don't think it's a big problem. I bought the truck 4 months ago. It has a newly rebuilt engine and has nearly 10,000.00 worth of work in the damn thing. The guy who owned it before me was a nut... I haven't had a single issue until yesterday. The bolts that hold on the air filter had come loose so I replaced them. I don't think I did anything to the carb during this process but I'm not sure. I find it unlikely anyway. I also strapped down the battery because it was loose. That's all I did. After doing this the truck would turn over and then immediately die. Perhaps it's a coincidence.

As long as I'm giving it gas it will continue to run but will die as soon as I let off. I replaced the fuel filter and disconnected the soft line on the engine side of the fuel pump and it was shooting out fuel. I went ahead and replaced all of the soft lines in the back. I've read a lot of threads about this problem and it seems to be fairly common. All fuses appear to be intact. I can hear the fuel relay click over when I turn the key.

I know this topic has been covered a lot, but perhaps someone can help with my specific case...

Thanks in advance.

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

This is fine where it is. If you want it moved just ask a mod, don't start another post exactly the same.

Have someone turn the key (don't start it) on off on off, while you listen near the carb. You should hear a click sound coming from it when the key is turned. If not, turn the key to ON and move the round electrical connector at the right rear side of the carb. Move the wires around and see if it clicks when you do this.

I wiggled all of the wires around with the key turned and didn't hear any clicks. Thank you for the help.

Yes but did you first....