E12-92 Retard? or No retard.

I asked the same question on hybrid z but no help. 
since I'm not experienced with timing and ignition, thought I'd ask you guys, otherwise I would have solved it myself already. 

so question is, What does the E12-92 do when the connector is DISCONNECTED?  (83 280zx)

I'm going carbs sooner later and a lot of EFI stuff is going to be deleted.(but the ignition part is going to be kept)  therefore I'm guessing the E12-90's not going to get signal.  

maybe I could push 12V with a switch and make it believe the EFI is still there? 

I'm really confused. 

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Mine is an E12-93

L24Eignition003Large.jpg

The E12-80 is very simple inside. A power transistor that draws current through the coil and with a magnetic trigger from the rotor/stator shuts off, collapsing the coil magnetic field and causing a spark. There is also a circuit that shuts off flow if the ignition is ON but the motor not running to prevent heating up the coil.

E12-80EImodule.jpg

The E12-93 is vastly different

E12-93EImodule001Large.jpg

All I know is someone on The Realm had a matchbox dizzy and when revving his L20B the timing light showed the timing dropping 18-20 degrees in the negative direction. It was theorized that the vacuum advance was backwards, advance weights on backwards and several other things. Eventually it came up that it had a zx E12-93 module and the 'light came on'. This was used on 280zx L28 CAS (crank angle sensor) motors including the L24 on the later Maxima and allowed very precise timing adjustments by the ECU, mostly for emissions reductions. It might also have had the ability to selectively retard the timing to reduce knock.

Used in place of an E12-80 the E12-93 has some strange effects on timing, not well understood.