Newbie here looking for a 1979 Datsun 210 mechanic in the SF Bay Area

dottie

I just picked up a 1979 Datsun 210 auto, lucky find with only 25K original miles. The interior is immaculate, engine bay and trunk. It even has the same spark plugs. I am having some low idle issues and wanted to know if any of you knew a good mechanic in the SF bay area? The car's been sitting for some time so I am sure it needs to be gone through. I am previously an old Fiat guy and new to Datsun. Any advice or help is appreciated.

Thanks,

John

BTW - Dottie is her name.

20130615_175735_zpscb148da8.jpg

a522511b-d31d-4d7a-a75f-b1a5dc5d3e29_zps

• Like 1
  • Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Thanks DM - I've tried that. I get the idle about 750-800 in park but when I get it in to gear it drops to about 500-600 and it feels like at times it wants to stall but never does,- which is good. I also find that when I step on the gas while in drive it feels like the auto transmission hesitates and then accelerates just fine. 

Lovely car.  Wish mine looked that good!

I've been fightin' with that "hesitation" for quite a while.  It ran great when I got it but I screwed up the linkage settings when I put in a rebuild kit.  So I made it even worse. 

I've had the carb come loose twice,  There is a big screw holding the bottom 1/3 of the carb to the top sections.  Crank the thing good and tight. 

The carb can get loose on the manifold.  I put some lock washers them 4 bolts instead of Loktite to fix that, but I have to admit the two nuts on the motor side is very difficult to reach.   Take the valve cover off and you have a lot more room.