Diesel trans

ike-con

Yep we got a newbe here.

Hey to you all, I tilt my hat to you! I have been reading through a lot of the topic's, but find myself getting destracted with all the good stuff on here. So to get some good info, I came on board.               

I have been makeing my on fuel since 2004 cause I really don't like paying for gas. I'v look for one of these diesel motors within my buget for a while now and patient has paid off.

I just pick up an 81king cab sd22 Wednesday with 250xxxx miles. It runs grate! I drove it 2 hours back to my house with out a problem. Now the truck body has seen better days and the folks that were passing me up thought so too. Did not bother me one bit cause what I really wanted was the motor n trans.

It has a five speed with 4th gear out, it just bounces when trying to put it in gear.

My ? is what gas motor trans would fit this diesel motor or should I just go through this one.

I would post some pict but I think I'll just spair you the pain of seeing this one right now. but when I get the 86 4x4 I will post both of them. There is a few goto guys on here and I am so looking forward to picking your brain.

Thanks in advance

ike-con

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I googled for you.

According to this thread the transmissions are not interchangeable.  I'm not sure I'm reading this right, but in post #6 it sounds like you can make a Frankentrans by using the front half of one and the gearcase from another?

Here's another one that seems to indicate the same - making one trans from two.

The transmission is a standard 71B 5 speed transmission. I used a worn out SD22 transmission in my L28 Turbo maxima for several months before it lost 5th gear. Just swapped front cases. 
Make sure you keep the steel front cover plate/pivot fork/clutch arm with the engine that you are using. 

• Like 1

Welcome to Ratsun  B)