1972 Goon valve adjustment, still clicking

Jasper

There has been a ticking noise since I bought the car, and I've been focusing on other things to get it on the road, but now its time for the motor.

I had adjusted the valves per my Nissan FSM for a Datsun 710. I think it was Intake 0.010 and Exhaust .012. I set it cold, because I'm new to adjusting valves. The clicking sound persisted, and I found an old thread on here where someone suggested Intake .006 and Exhaust .008, so that's what it's at now. To be honest, I'm not even sure if it sounds any better.

I'll try to give as many clues/symptoms as I can:

• Motor is L18 block with W58 head.
  • Motor was rebuilt before I bought it, but I'm not sure how extensive. The inside of the valve cover was spotless, and the cam looks like new. Motor produces no smoke.
  • When the RPM's increase, the clicking sound goes away.
  • When I bought the car, the oil level seemed way too high, well above the marks on the stick. Drained, new filter, new oil.
  • I know for a fact the thermostat was broken. Currently running it without a thermostat while I figure out whats going on.
  • Not sure if it matters, but there is an exhaust leak at the lower manifold where the pipes meet. Clicking sound doesn't come from this though.
  • This may just be my imagination, but the clicking sound seems louder on the drivers side than it does on the passenger side in the engine bay. Could possibly just be that there is more room for it to echo/amplify on that side though.

Any ideas? :confused:

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

It's 0.010" and 0.012" HOT. Always try to set them hot as it's more accurate. There is a cold setting but this is more for when rebuilding or if the head was disassembled and needs a starting point. Warm the engine up for 20 min first. To get the job done faster before the motor cools off too much set at TDC and adjust the following valves...

Intake #1