New to Datsuns

Lowandslow

So this is my first time on this forum and my first time with a Datsun. I have a 1980 Datsun 720 with the original l20b. I have done some research on this truck but I still need some more help. First off, it takes 20 seconds to get from 0 - 60. I know this truck is no race car or anything but it becomes an issue when I try to get into the freeway. Is this a normal 0 - 60 time? It still has the stock hitachi carb so I don't know if that's hindering the performance of the truck or not. Secondly, is it worth swapping in a Z24 engine? Or is it about the same as the l20b in terms of reliability. I have changed the intake/exhaust manifold gasket, cleaned the carb, put in a new down pipe from the exhaust manifold back, and a new generic flowmaster type exhaust.

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome to Ratsun  B)

It's a 720 with an L20b, be happy it is not a 4X4  :lol:, I actually cannot tell you how fast they are supposed to be, as I have only owned 720 diesels, and they likely take even longer to get to hiway speed, I myself would have to be in it to tell you if it is gutless.

The reason flatcat19 said what he said is that you did not post any photos, so they are to small for him to see.  :lol:  :lol:  :lol:

It's a Ratsun thing, we like photos a lot.

You would likely have to change everything to put a Z24 in your truck, I beleave that the actual frame mounts are differant for the engine, and your best bet would be to change the wiring harness also, as I think the napZ also has a ECU.

If your looking for more power, and you have the resources/knowledge, you will would get a lot of feedback/help/encouragement going with a VG30 of some type, as we all want more power, well and moar loar also.  :lol:

My last truck(LZ22) got up to speed pretty fast. Broken speedo-so I can not verify.

The truck prior(L16) also had a broken speedo. So I'm even more lost on an actual 0-60 time.