New to ratsun. My 72 521.

Better9

Im new to datsuns but Ive always been a fan of classic and european cars. My pass cars were older hatchback civics, mitsu evo9, bmw 2002, bmw e21, bmw e30 and old yamaha and honda bikes. Ive Never been a big fan of trucks but have grown to the practicality of having a truck, so why not get a classic japanese truck. Ive been searching for a pre 1975 datsun truck for a while and after months of searching Ive stumbled upon a 72 521 for $1600. had to drive 400 miles for it though. When I bought it, it had a bad oil pan leak which I thought at first was a quick fix. initially i thought... weld the pan or replace it and slap it back on and its good to go. it turns out the motor mounts were bad. With the engine sagging and the center tie link so close to oil pan, the center tie link, tie rods, idler arm and pitman arm were damaged one way or another . so far I've found replacement parts for everything except for a pitman arm. need help sourcing one out so i can get it on the road. sadly Ive never driven it yet, hence the reason why creating an account here so i can start looking at the classifieds. so why not introduce myself and show my new purchase. I plan to keep it as jdm and as original looking as I can. so thanks for looking and if anyone has any leads on a pitman arm, I would greatly appreciate it. if not its cool, il just keep searching the classifieds, craiglist and ebay. Thanks again and Im excited to be part of the ratsun community. 

photo_1.jpg

photo_1.png

image.jpg

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome to Ratsun  B)

Are you in Long beach, Washington or California, from the tile roofs in the back ground, I am now thinking CA.

There was a 521 in the Sherwood Oregon pick and pull last weekend, I can't recall if it had the pitman arm on it.

It is likely that no one will be able to remove that arm without luck and special pullers while on the vehicle.