Clutch fork clicking

Hi All,

Noob here with a few questions. I've got a '73 620 with a L20b from a 77KC, a 5 speed that originally mated to a KA24 (not sure if e or de). Clutch and flywheel came with the L20b, so I assume I have a 225mm flywheel/clutch. The bell housing and clutch fork I'm not sure where they came from.

Let's go back to Friday. Driving home from work, my slave cylinder craps all of the fluid out the rubber boot. When under the truck I noticed that the push rod is a threaded one with the rounded nut on the end. The clutch fork does not have a hole (is this a "B" type?). Anyway, installed the new slave cylinder and I had to use the threaded rod from the old slave cylinder because the new one was about 3/8" too short to disengage the clutch.

Based on what I've read while searching, I should have a few tenths of play in the clutch fork when the clutch is engaged (slave cylinder rod fully retracted). The problem I have is I have to thread the nut on the push rod out about 1/4" past the end of the rod to the point where it's putting pressure on the fork. When test driving it, I get a loud clicking sound from the fork while the clutch is engaged. If I push the pedal in, the sound goes away.

I've tried adjusting the nut back but then I lose the ability to shift. If I adjust forward the click gets louder and I'm wary of preloading the clutch too much. The pic is a link to a video I shot yesterday of the fork/slave cylinder. You can't tell by the poor iPhone video quality, but the fork/pushord are shaking around like a crazy son of a bitch. One thing to note: there was no clicking before the old slave cylinder went bad - only after I installed the new one with the old threaded pushrod. Old and new slave cylinder are the same length and dimensions of course. What the hell can this clicking be? Does it sound like I have the wrong sized release collar maybe? Thanks in advance guys. -Rob

th_IMG_1031.jpg

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply