ka24de clutch slipping

hello ratsun. im new to standards so ive never really dealt with clutches before and ive come here for help. ive got a 97 altima fwd with 173xxx miles on it. my first question is if i will need a kit, just the plate, etc. what brand is recommended as well for a daily with this many miles on it. i really want to do this right without spending too much money. so more questions will follow, im sure

i realize this isnt a datsun but i figure its a motor alot of you are familiar with.

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

When replacing clutches, I get the kit, which includes the Clutch Disc, Pressure Plate, Throwout bearing, and pilot bearing(Should include a clutch alignment tool). There are a number of trustworthy brands, but if you're not gonna spring for a factory clutch(buko $$$), I'd go with something like Exedy or Aisin. Both good quality and inexpensive, but not cheap junk.

Also, I get the flywheel turned as well. No sense doing a job if you're not gonna do it right.

ah that makes sense. im trying to get ahold of the PO to find out when the last time it was changed. i mean, it could have been changed just recently, but me with my inexperience fucked it up.

my clutch is hydraulic and everything ive found tells me that there is no way to adjust the free play manually. im going to bleed the clutch tomorrow and if that doesnt help ill pull the trigger on this clutch kit

http://www.88rotors....-01-altima.html

surprisingly its about 40$ cheaper then the advance/napa/oriellys/pepboys brand. not sure what autozone charges, didnt bother to check.

Micro is spot on !

Clutch kit and flywheel machining ftw.

If your input bushing/bearing is bad .. make sure to replace or it will significantly multiply wear on your trans/ruin it.

Make sure to use supplied input shaft "lube" on input splines/shaft/collar travel area/pivot points.