280zx: Hearing a chunk noise while starting, replaced starter-no change in behavior

Jomz Shakes

I have a 1982 280zx n/a 5 speed, had a intermittent problem thats been getting progressively worse, now its bad. when starting it seems as if one part of the flywheel has messed up teeth, some starts will be fine, but some will hit a area on the flywheel that lets the starter even spin freely "once it chunks to that area the car hesitates hard to start and often doesn't."

I had a starter laying around so i threw it on - no difference

i have another clutch and flywheel laying around here,its an oem one from a turbo 280zx, "im not sure what year i think its a 79'?",

the flywheel says "T50" on it and "7721A".

The guy who sold me the clutch/flywheel told me it may not fit onto my engine, he said something about buying a "collar" of of some type of 240sx??

Any help would be appreciated, Im new to switching parts from one type of a car to others.

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The start signal from the ignition switch may be weak. Try using a remote starter switch that shops use so a mechanic can turn the motor over from under the hood or making a jumper wire from the battery and touch it directly to the starter solenoid. Try several starts and see if the problem persists or goes away. If it starts well repeatedly then the wiring and connectors (maybe even the ignition switch) are not making good contact or are old. Instead of 12 volts from the battery the solenoid is maybe getting 5 or 6 and has trouble holding itself in and keeping the starter going.

I had a random starter problem on my 710 and I used this weak start signal from the ignition switch, (it was about 6 volts) to trigger a relay that fed the full 12 volts from the battery to the solenoid. Never did it again.