Automatic datsun 510 problems....

I have a 68 datsun 510, automatic trans that went out (car number 567). I replaced the transmission but....

I am having problems plugging in the inhibitor switch correctly. my wiring harness that goes to the inhibitor switch is quite confusing, the colors of wires I have are black, black, blue, blue,. Yet in all the manuals I have the colors should be black yellow, black yellow, red black, red black (the new trans. inhibitor wires match up to manuals). I have tried multiple combinations without any luck. My starter still fails to work. The car ran good when I removed the old tranmission. Note: I also have some sort of switch on the other side of the new trans, it has two black wires. My guess is this is the nuetral switch?(This makes 6 possible connections to the transmission, yet I only have 4 wires to connect, so confusing) I have no experience when it comes to auto trans. for 510's this is my first automatic out of 10 I have owned. My question would be how should I proceed? is there a way to bypass the inhibitor switch or is this not a good idea?

My only guess would be that this 510 is so old that the wiring colors dont match what most manuals have for diagrams. I even tried a brittish manual with no luck =(. can anyone help a fellow 510 lover out here =)

Thanks in advance, Dz

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

You didn't say but is the replacement trans an exact match?

The inhibitor just prevents starting it in gear. Trust me it's a hell of a surprise starting it and it jumps ahead and you're off!!!

Just get in the habit of putting it in PARK and the parking brake on.

The two wires 'on the other side' are likely the kick down switch. There might be a switch connected to the gas peddle above your toes that signals full throttle and the trans needs this to force a down shift. It makes a notifiable CLICK when you press the gas all the way down.