Idle/Overheat Problems

Dominic

Help! During long trips, usually about an hour on the freeway, my car starts to idle weird when coming to stops. With my foot off the throttle, the idle speed increases on it's own as if I am pushing down on the throttle. I would say the idle would increase and stick to around 2-3k rpms when i'm at a full stop(approximating since my tacho doesnt work). Normally the car idles pretty low and runs fine. I checked my throttle cable and springs to see if they're sticking but it seems like the problem is coming from within the carbuerator or the engine. I imagine this could be due to the engine overheating?(my engine temp meter doesnt work either). I know my radiator has a small leak but i dont know if that's what's causing it? Also, there's a small knocking coming from my engine. I'm a total noob with datsuns and car knowledge in general so please bare with me. any help would be appreciated. I'm thinking it could be off valve timing, a blown head gasket, or a vacuum leak? I have an L16 from a datsun truck i'm told, and some sort of webber carbuerator.

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi Guy ,,,

Ok not gonna try to sound like an ass ,,, but help you save your car ,,, :)

(1) Stop driving the car :unsure:

(2) your engine needs a proper temperature gauge ,,, to be able to monitor ,,, while driving ,,, even an aftermarket one is better than none ,,,

(3) how small is the small radiator leak ? :blink: :mellow: