Custom 320 gauges; new gear ratio questions

ol' 320

Hello:

I am relatively new to Ratsun. Greetings from Visalia, CA This is my first new topic post.

I found my 320 online and bought it from a fellow Ratsun member: "Stoffregen Motorsports" who lives up in the Gold Country area in northern California. Anyway, I will start a proper build thread soon, but I wanted to share one project that was part of the purchase agreement: installing all new gauges and calibrating them accurately.

When the previous owner bought this truck, the gauge panel had already been bastardized by someone who installed a piece of plastic junk with old gauges that bounced around like a drunken sailor waving at a hottie. Not good.

Matt, the seller, is a superb fabricator. This is the guy rich dudes take their 4WDs to in order to refit them with working, high-end suspension that will survive the Rubicon Trail. Not the type of jacked up suspension all the Valley folks around here drive on their dairies ... suspension that work, don't bind and don't break, or throw you upside down and leave you crushed to death because they require an orchard ladder to get into the cab and centers of gravity up in the nosebleed area..

I went to Matt's place to check out his old Datsun 320, and ended up spending more time looking at his 1957 Landrover equipped with all Toyota EFi running gear and custom transfer cases and suspension, his 1937 GMC truck project, and his brace of old military Jeeps - including one that seems destined to become a rockcrawler sleeper powered by a Lexus V8, or some such thing.

Very cool guy. And who doesn't love a talented dude with a shop bigger than most people's homes and a great four post lift?

I found out about Matt while checking out some fabrication threads on the Pirate 4x4 forum, and decided it was worth it to drive 4.5 hours to go look at his customized 320 to see what it was really like.