Accelerator Pump preventing start up?

ZombieSheep

Ok so I'm a total noob when it comes to working with anything under the hood. I have a 620 pick up with the Weber 32/34 carburetor on it. Everything was running fine and then one day it just refused to start. We noticed the valves were stuck in the open position so the assumption was a missing spring or something. Well after some poking around, it appears that the accelerator pump was stuck. We moved it out of the stuck position then tried to start it. The truck tried to start and the pump did have some movement when I pumped the pedal, but ultimately it died without even idling on its own.

I've poked around some of the issues other people have had with the Weber and this is about the only thing I can come up with as a potential problem. Unfortunately I'm not sure how much the pump is supposed to move (is it not responsive enough?) or if there is some other part of the carburetor that could be having issues? If I can get it to at least start then maybe I can get it to the shop (nearest is an hour away) where someone who knows what they're doing can look at it. But until then...

Any thoughts?

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The accelerator pump has one function: when the throttle is moved, it squirts gas into the bore.

appears that the accelerator pump was stuck

What did you see?

The accelerator pump can be broke and the carburetor should still idle. So those are two separate issues.

I'm not sure how much the pump is supposed to move

It does not move much. But every time you move the throttle, it should move a little. If it doesn't move, it won't pump and you won't be able to start a cold engine. You can use starting fluid to start it, but then when you to drive it it won't accelerate.

Spray some "carburetor cleaner" on all the linkage (choke, throttle, pump, etc) to remove dirt & grime -- and to lubricate the linkage.