620 Efficiency

copacetickid

I'm new to datsuns, and just beginning to learn more than the basics about cars, so please forgive my naivety. Also, think of this as a way to show off your limitless knowledge ;)

I bought my 620 1) cause it's effing beautiful, and 2) because I wanted a small truck to put a canopy on and a bed in the back for road trips. Being that it is for distance driving, I'm aiming for the best gas mileage possible.

I know this boils down to greater efficiency, but what are the best ways to get there? I'm pretty poor, but should I break down and get a weber carb and a new header? Big or small, engine or other, what should I do to my truck?

(stock everything L20b, 170-170-160-170 compression)

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

You don't say what year so I'll assume a post '74 with an L20B, not that there's anything wrong with the two smaller motors, the L20B just has a size advantage.

First have the motor in tune and running at it's best. In other words a tune up. Now there's no sense spending lots of money replacing stuff that doesn't need replacing if it runs good. So this is up to you. But definitely replace the fuel and air filters and the oil and filter. Always change the oil filter with every oil change. You might look at an oil that is made for lowering friction to give better mileage. Synthetic oils help a bit but are expensive and on an older motor that's worn and wasn't built to the tighter specs of to-day's cars, it can leak past gaskets and seals. Have the timing set for the grade of gas you plan to run. The timing should be as advanced as possible without pinging. Some grades with the same octane rating are better or worse for this.

Have the valve lash checked and/or adjusted. You want to get the most out of your engine.