What Are My Front Brakes?

From the help of you guys and some local mechanics I've been able to pull apart my front end. I've made a discovery that the front end is disc brakes and not drums. I think someone would call this an upgrade but right now it's a headache because I can't figure out what it's from. I have some basic knowledge of cars, but I have no idea what's going on here. There were some bolts holding what I assume is the wheel hub to the rotor, but I think it's rusted on. I'm afraid to damage this piece of kit without understanding more about it. Any answers or idea of where to look for answers are appreciated!

PXL_20240309_224043257.jpg?ex=65ff5c76&i

PXL_20240309_223912419.jpg?ex=65ff5c76&i

PXL_20240309_223855935.jpg?ex=65ff5c76&i

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I may be using some incorrect terminology with the rotor/hub. Forgive any mislabeling of the parts. I'm happy to take in new information on what is happening here and what all the parts are called.

The '78 and '79 had front disc brakes so either someone put a '74 cab on a '78-'79 frame or the '74 engine tag was swapped to make a '78-'79 truck look like a '74. Post a picture of the caliper to be sure.

The rotor can be turned down by a shop if not worn down too far. The minimum thickness is 0.413". If it can't be turned down then it must be replaced.

PXL_20240309_223855935.thumb.webp.acf3c5dce77ae766bcdc6836c7b3a613.webp

This does come apart right down the middle but very tight tolerances and age and rust is holding it. Strike the flange just to the left of those wheel studs and hit towards the right. A crack will form, keep tapping around and around and it will split apart to remove the rotor.. .

Below: