Idle and dying issues

adg

Hi, so I have a 1982 datsun 720 4x4 z22

It's a good truck with some issues and right now it won't idle and I need help figuring out why, so awhile back we tried to change the carb and had the wrong one the previous owner tried to also and cut off the plug for the choke and the Iac and it ran fine like that, however when I hooked them back up it started idling at 3000 rpm, but when I disconnected them and swapped the iac for another on the new carb that the truck came with and now when it starts it'll idle at 2000 for a few seconds and die and when it started doing that gas started leaking out of the back of the carb by the throttle linkage as well. What could this be?

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

So after some additional research(sorry I'm a little new to these older datsuns) I found out that the part I called an iac is actually a anti-dieseling solenoid but I can't find any replacement for it, anywhere I check says it's discontinued. I'm contemplating getting a new carb for it instead but I'm not sure what would be best for it, any ideas? Preferably on the cheaper side 

Two things... the choke should be connected and working and the idle cut solenoid wired and working.

Best to connect the choke heater wiring. This will warm and turn the choke off after 10? minutes or less. If the choke is on or even slightly on because the heater is disconnected, there is a fast idle circuit activated and this is likely the cause of the fast idle. The choke on all the times will cause horrible mileage.

The anti dieseling solenoid when off, closes a fuel line passage to the idle circuit. It s only supposed to be on when the engine is running. When turning the engine off this shut off fuel to the idle circuit and helps stall the engine and prevent 'run on' or dieseling. They seldom fail.