New owners guide

Foxhound

Hello there folks, I just bought a 1984 Datsun/Nissan 720 KC 4x4 (non-cali emissions, 5spd manual) and thought it would be a good idea to lightly document the process for myself and anyone else who buys one of these bad boys. I'm new to this engine and older cars in general, but I would say my mechanical ability is intermediate and I have a passionate mind for problem solving and understanding how things work. This vehicle is slightly older than me if anyone cares. I'm also new to this forum and this is my first post. So far, browsing around here has been a great resource for useful info. I've learned a lot from datzenmike and others, thank you, and felt inspired to somewhat compile some of the basic things I've seen mentioned as well as go through the buying process and basic things to look for and maintain with this model/engine/transmission.

I'll admit there was very little that would have stopped me from buying this truck. I traveled 2+ hours to see it. It was exactly what I was looking for and it ran, drove, shifted fine. The body/frame was in good condition, original paint, very little rust. Interior was very nice. My original inspection wasn't as thorough as I would've liked it to be. Anxiety often gets the best of me in situations like this and I overlook or forget things in the moment. Don't be like me. You have the money, you're in control. Be thorough, have a checklist. For example, rather than looking inside the coolant reservoir, I just looked from the outside. Upon getting it back home and really inspecting it, what I thought was coolant was just a dried up line of crust. Slapped myself for that one. I know better too, but in the moment when you're chatting with a complete stranger and trying to inspect things, it's easy to lose focus.