Autopsy of a 4 speed stuck in 4th

Digger48

I have a 4-speed transmission (F4W63) from a '73 PL620 that got stuck in 4th gear. I'm trying to figure out why.  I bought this one for $100 from a guy who was planning to put a 5-speed in his truck.  I took it home, drained the fluid from it, opened up the bottom cover plate to examine it, didn't see any metal pieces, or any obvious problems, so I installed it in my truck and filled it with gear oil and it seemed to work adequately.  However, I noticed right away it tended to grind gears when I shifted, unless I slowly eased it into gear.  After driving it around town a few times (well under 100 miles) it got stuck in 4th gear.  (I found a 5-speed from a '77 620 (a FS5W71B) but am going to have to rebuild it -- but that's another story.) 

Before taking on the 5-speed I decided I would see if I could figure out why my 4 speed got stuck in 4th.  So I started to disassemble it.  Mind you, I have no experience, skill or proper tools (like a press or bearing puller) to attempt a transmission rebuild but I thought I might sharpen my teeth (bad gear pun) on the 4-speed. I am part way into it and have a few questions I'm hoping one or more of you experienced folks may have some answers to.

What I found:

-- This transmission had been opened up before (excessive gasket cement, a few marks like someone had banged on a piece or two with a tool or hammer)

-- Upon removal of the detent plugs, the springs came out, but the check-balls would not roll out despite my efforts of turning the case over and tapping with a non-metal mallet, spraying solvent up into the tubes, blowing compressed air in the tubes, and trying to loosen them with an ice pick.  I later got them out after removing the selector rods. They were apparently gunked with dirty grease and would not release.