'72 620 brakes

Shaggy620

Hey everyone! I'm new to the page and the Datsun world. A couple weeks ago I purchased my first Datsun, my dream car/truck :)

Anyway. Today I was driving her for the first time in the rain, and when I brake slightly the truck yanks itself to the left. It scared the crap out of me. This is my first car without ABS so I'm not used to this. I'm assuming it only does this in the rain because when they're dry they work perfectly fine other than they take a little longer to brake.. I'm wondering if there's any advice of if its my alignment? I'm not familiar. Also i know there's front disc brake conversions I don't know what's the good stuff. Thanks :)

• Replies 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Two things...

1/ The left (driver's) side brakes are working but the right front or rear, or both are no or to a lesser extent.Truck wants to slow down on one side and rotate, cartwheel around the working side brakes. The 620 has four wheel drum brakes that need adjusting so that they brake evenly. The 620 brakes are very good but they need to be constantly adjusted a couple of times a year.

2/ My 620 did this also, but only in the rain. The front alignment was way out. Toed in. Both front tires severely worn smooth on the insides of the tread. On dry road the two tires just fight and cancel  out, But in the rain one has more traction and suddenly there isn't any on the other and over into the other lane you go. I pointed my truck out the driveway and walked across the street. Standing in my neighbor's ditch and looking at the wheels I could see that they were both aimed right at me. Just do the same or have a friend turn and adjust the steering wheel so that if you sight down the side walls of the front tire you can line it up with the rear behind it. Takes a few tries but get the front lined up with the rear.