My New '84 720: Introduction and Questions (SoCal)

CicliDevotion

Hey Gang,

I'm about a week in to owning the '84 720 seen below.  I've already posted a couple of inquiries here and scoured these boards a bit but thought I'd share my truck and also ask a couple of questions while I'm at it.  Please go easy on me...I'm a Datsun/Nissan noob.  My 720 replaces an '87 Toyota FJ60 Landcruiser...which replaced a 1976 Dodge custom "boogie van".  Fact of the matter is, I've spent the last 13 years in Brooklyn, NY, where I mostly got around by bike and spent a ton of time wrenching on classic race machines and racing road, cyclocross and track. 

I'm back to my native Los Angeles and this pickup will be my daily:

14239196551_4773453089_b.jpg

14262677223_7d286956a8_b.jpg

• Like 1
  • Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

And now for some general and specific questions...

1) I've seen pics of other '84s that have DATSUN badging on the lower left corner of the tailgate.  My truck supposedly sports original paint.  Was Datsun badging probably removed? Was my gate repainted? Did '84 2WD 720's sometimes NOT have Datsun badging anywhere?  (Basically, I just want to know if it's save to purchase that "I love my Datsun" iron-on I saw on eBay...)

(Kidding.)

(Not kidding.)

Thanks Cpl620.  First and foremost, I want to make a reliable daily out of it.  I wanted a steezy, economical driver that I could put muddy bikes and sandy surfboards in.  But I also need to get to work every day.  Plans now are to get it running like a top, maybe new wheels...soundsystem.  Probably address the paint splattered bed, maybe with a respray or a mat or liner of some sort.