Starter Issues with my '85 720

Flatballer

I bought this truck recently and have been trying to fix the problems since. This is my first vehicle and it might be obvious that it is my first time working on them. I have an '85 nissan 720 King Cab that I bought a couple months ago. The car started up decent at first and progressively became worse.  I replaced the starter to have the same thing happen, good starts for a a week or two before the starter just wouldn't even catch the flywheel anymore.  Let me reiterate that I am really new to wrenching around in cars.  So last week I dropped my transmission and replaced my flywheel. The flywheel had suffered a little bit of wear so it wasn't a lost cause. I put the truck back together and it started up very nicely the first try. The second and third start where a little more rough so I decided to not start it anymore. I took the starter back out and took it to NAPA to get some advice. Most people there were very unhelpful, but one kid seemed to know a little more and suggested I get an idea of what kind of model parts are in my truck to see what has changed from the stock parts.  My motor says Nissan Z on the side of it with an intake side number listed as BPR6ES. The flywheel I replaced the old one with looked identical and the part number is 88146 from NAPA. My transmission has a casting number of ZL71B and is 26" long. I couldn't get to the model number of the transmission. The starter that NAPA sold me is labeled 244-6133 (12V, 0.8kW). I can clearly see on the starter that it has not been fully engaged with the flywheel and seems to be catching the corners of the teeth.  I'm pretty lost right now in what kind of starter can properly engage my flywheel or what kind of parts I need to replace to have a working vehicle.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic