1972 521(1600) weber conversion

redrooster

I am new to this thread and just purchased a 72 521-1600. I am wanting to swap carb to a Weber. Which is better the Wk657 or the Wk663, i know one is Manual choke and the other is Electric, just wondering which is the preferred. Thank you, im loving the forum! Still have a lil paperwork to get done on truck, but making a WISHLIST.

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I know I'm a noob to this forum but I've had my 510 for a few years I used the manual choke weber on mine l16 but sometimes I wished I kept the hitachi. So what's wrong with your stock carb? I found that the weber 32/36 almost too much for my l16 and I run on the rich side no matter what I do and have to play with it too much. I ran the hitachi for two years and never really had to mess with it but got ambitious and wanted power so got a weber didn't really notice too much change other than I'm playing with it too much. So now I'm doing a engine swap ( after its done of course) for the power I want. Plus the stock carb will save you money for all the other stuff that you find that needs to be replaced once you start driving it.

The man i bought my lil truck from, dismantled it and lost/forgot parts on how it goes back together. I havent really looked at it myself, so i was looking into a conversion. ty for your fast comment. Someone told me the Weber was hard to adjust, but that was his opinion from another project.

Ive got an 32/36 electric choke weber on my l16....I love it myself. Gets great gas mileage and idles right at 650 rpms. Installed it and set mix and idle once. Got a great tan color on my plugs as well. Oil does get a little on the fuely side deep into an oil cycle. Also running a matchbox dizzy.

And use some lock tite on the adapter bolts!!! I know this from cutting corners myself. :blush:

Jeff